29!

by Karen

This morning, I woke up to the heavy breathing of a toddler standing next to the bed at 4:49am. I tried getting Weston to say “Happy Birthday Mommy!” but he chose to yell “BALL” and throw one at my head. And that is how I spent my first 5 minutes as a 29-year-old. With Clay being away, the day isn’t going to get too crazy, although I plan to do some damage in the way of clothes shopping with some birthday money. After my dentist appointment. Yes, I scheduled a date with the teeth doctor on the anniversary of my arrival to this sweet world of ours – I am that committed to dental hygiene.

Clay will be home tomorrow so the real festivities will begin then (probably take-out Korean food, rum & cokes, Portlandia, and treadmill shopping – clearly we’re cray cray). That’s okay, with Clay having been around for only one birthday of mine in our almost 11 years together, it probably wouldn’t feel normal to celebrate it on the actual day anyway. A friend did make me chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese frosting (my favorite) and I received an off-key rendition of Happy Birthday for our Bible Study group last night so please don’t think I am sitting at home sobbing in the corner. I am totally cool adding another year to my existence. And since I am feeling extra frisky today, I may even order a venti non-fat latte from Starbucks. Watch out world – this 29 year old is fierce today!

Other March 1st Birthdays

  • Ron Howard – March 1, 1954
  • Mark Paul Gosselaar – March 1, 1974
  • Ke$ha – March 1, 1984
  • Justin Beiber – March 1, 1994

As you can see, I share the day with greats such as Opie, Zach Morris, a trash bag, and The Beibs.

It’s okay to be jealous.

Now if you excuse me, I must go brush and floss my teeth.

