Some of Our Favorite Children Books

by Karen

I apologize for the disjointed blogging. My computer hates me and I am thisclose to giving it the Michael Bolton, Samir Nagheenanajar, and Peter Gibbons treatment (see here). The post you’re about to read has taken me three days to write because my computer keeps freezing and my work not saving. I’ve retyped each word approximately as many times as Lindsay Lohan crashed a party. Good times. So this post isn’t as tight and clean as it could be but I am publishing it anyway as an act of defiance to my possessed computer. Take that 2008 Macbook!

As a little girl, I loved The Goodnight Book. I think because the main character resembled my three-year-old self. Sadly, I can’t really recall why it was among my favorites but upon reading it as adult, I believe it stands the test of time. Good thing, because otherwise I’d have to believe that I was quite a narcissistic toddler. A Facebook discussion about the book prompted my mom to hunt it down and give it to me this past Christmas. I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t one of my favorite gifts.

The Goodnight Book now resides in Weston’s bookshelf, which got me thinking about my favorite books in his collection. There are very few books that Clay and I don’t enjoy reading to the little guy (although Go Dog Go does get old after the 4th reading), and we’re thrilled that he loves being read to and ‘reading’ to himself. So I’d thought I share a couple of books that we enjoy reading as a family, beyond the popular classics Green Eggs and HamGoodnight Moon, and the like.

The story of Gerald McBoing Boing by Dr. Seuss, first appeared on a children’s record before become a book, an animated short film, and a television series. It is about a two-year-old boy would doesn’t talk and uses sound effects instead. There has been some criticism about the book having the message of Gerald not being accepted until he is rich and famous but in my opinion, the book is about how there is a place in the world for unique talents.

My friend, who happens to be a librarian, gave us this book when Weston was born. I was not familiar with it, having not read it as a child. However, Corduroy by Don Freeman has become one of our favorites. The book is about Corduroy, his adventures in a department store and his journey to finding a home. The book is short, sweet, and filled with adorable illustrations.

Good Night Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann has very few words and instead relies on the illustrations to tell the story. Our family has our own version of the story and I’m sure that the story each family creates is slightly different – that is the beauty of the book. We have our own sound effects that make this book special and fun to read together. Clay has created quite the involved narrative and Weston always prefers his version over mine – oh well.

One of Clay’s favorites from childhood was The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf. Weston gave Clay a copy this past Christmas and it has been a regular staple ever since. Ferdinand is a bull who prefers to smell flowers rather than fight and the story follows his journey to the big city for a bullfight. The illustrations are minimalistic but accompany the story nicely. I hope to incorporate other international books into Weston’s collection and would love recommendations!

{source unknown}

So there you have it – a short list of just some of our favorite books to read together.

What are some favorites in your family? 

Related Links

