A Simpler Time?

by Karen

Yesterday afternoon, we attended the Sweetheart Banquet at our church. Not only were we served delicious food, we were also treated to a performance by Chairman of the Chord, a local barbershop quartet. Weston presented me with a flower and there were too many cupcakes to choose from, which was awesome to this girl with a sweet tooth. And I get it – while some of you may view barbershop quartets as hokey, I can’t help but swoon with good ol’ nostalgia.

Chairmen of the Board

All that is missing is the soda jerk.

When I was younger, I used to wish upon many stars that I could be transported to the 1950’s. Looking back, this may have been induced by multiple viewings of Back to the Future, but in my 10-year-old mind, it didn’t get much better than full skirts, ponytails, and car hops. My favorite show was I Love Lucy (as evident by the naming of our dog and cat as Lucy and Desi respectively) and I couldn’t get enough of Jerry Lewis. Great balls of fire, indeed. Some people refer to the 1950s as a simpler time. On the surface, it may have been. But a quick look at the turbulent 1960s gives insight to the unrest that was brewing under the facade of the previous decade. So maybe it wasn’t so much of a simpler time. Which makes me wonder, forty years from now, are we’re going to look back on these current uneasy years as a simpler time?

___

Look, look, look – I snapped a picture with my cell phone (in effort to work towards my goal of taking more pictures), which inspired an entire post. Imagine that.

