Can a Fish Climb a Tree?

by Karen

Over this past week the little guy has been waking up anywhere between 4:30am and 5:15am, thanks to the cutting of some molars – good times. With our sleep schedule interrupted, I find myself more tired than usual and practicing some lazy parenting techniques. Yes, we have watched Despicable Me every morning this week. What can I say? Weston likes the minions and I like being able to accomplish a task without a little person continuously saying, “Momma, momma, momma, momma, momma, etc…” (No, he doesn’t actually say et cetera but you get the point I’m making).

I think I’ve casually mentioned on here that Weston doesn’t have the world’s greatest vocabulary. In other words, he doesn’t talk much. He is only 27 months but we’ve encountered children his age that have a better grasp of the English language than 39% of Facebook users. The little guy understands Clay and I just fine – he just a boy of few words, so we’re not worried at this point in time. And new words are entering his vocabulary, it just happens to be at a slightly slower rate than average.

That being said, I’ve been trying introduce educational activities that don’t give off the I am forcing my child to practice alphabet flashcards six hours a day so he can attend the most posh kindergarten in the world and then people will validate me sort of vibe. I am a huge advocate of letting kids be kids and I identify with the montessori theory that so much can be learned from engaging in everyday tasks and nurturing the natural development, at least for the toddler crowd. But Weston is at the age where I think he can benefit from a short structured lesson on letters, numbers, colors, shapes, etc… in between periods of exploration.

It doesn’t help that Weston has the attention span of our dog, Lucy, in a sausage and bacon emporium. While he will engage in an educational activity for a couple of minutes, it isn’t long before he has taken off to climb pieces of furniture or go spelunking in some cabinets. Members of our church joke that he is going to be an adventurer when he grows up – we don’t think they’re off base with their assessment. And who am I to stifle an adventurous spirit? He loves sorting and responds well to traditional montessori activities, which I think play into his free-spirited nature.

{source}

If you have any educational resources for toddlers that you’d like to recommend, please feel free to do so…thank you!

