Be Well

by Karen

After traveling 3,291 miles, we’re back in good ol’ Oklahoma, where the wind comes sweepin’ down the plain. We’re tired, we’re sick, and we’re glad to be home. While we thoroughly enjoyed the adventure of visiting family and friends in the southeast over the past 2.5 weeks, Clay and I both agree that next year we will stay put during the Christmas season – just for something different.

We arrived home late Saturday night, just in time to ring in the new year. 2012 promises to bring a new house, a new job in academia, a new venture, and new sense of appreciation. 2011 was a difficult year at times, filled with lessons that I wasn’t necessarily ready to learn. But I am so glad I did.

A friend from high school posted the following words on Facebook …”We cannot rely on a good life that is based on factors outside our control like the economy, the stock market, global labor dynamics and technological innovation. Yet we can rely on a good life that is based on what is largely within our control like our our well-being, our relationships, our beliefs, our sense of purpose and our contribution to society.Bright Green Talent

Rather than list redundant resolutions, I thought I’d share my motto for 2012 – Be well. This encompasses all aspects of my life – strengthening my physical core, emotional self, professional being, and the impact I have on our world. My life is not perfect. But that doesn’t mean that it can’t be spectacular. I have big plans. Just watch me.

