Merry Christmas!

by Karen

Phew. After the wedding, Clay flew home to Oklahoma to finish up work before the Christmas holiday while Weston, Lucy, and myself settled in at my parents house in Georgia. I spent my time shopping for my boys, eating, drinking, and reading. In fact, I went to Target by myself (!) for the first time since we moved to Oklahoma. It was glorious. I even upped the luxury factor by stopping at Starbucks prior to my journey into retail heaven.

Clay is back in Georgia now. In fact, I drove through a tornado/super cell on the way to Chattanooga to pick up Clay from the airport on Thursday night. It was the most terrifying experience I’ve had driving. I still get a pit in my stomach thinking about it.

My sisters and our significant others went to 2 Dogs last night for a nice meal out sans children. If you’re ever in Gainesville, be sure to check out this restaurant. I had the Rosa, and it as everything I’d hoped it would be and more.

My brother and his wife (<— I get to type that now!) arrive this evening and the Christmas festivities will begin for the entire family. We’re all feverishly working on our sweaters for the first annual Ugly Christmas sweater contest, whipping up appetizers, and finishing up last minute shopping. I feel so blessed to be able to spend Christmas surrounded by family. There is nothing like waking up to a full house on Christmas morning and I am thankful that we made the effort to make it happen this year.

I’ll close with our 2011 Christmas Card. I believe that we are here on earth for something other than ourselves. Whatever you believe, I hope these next couple of days find you filled with peace and happiness. Merry Christmas!

