Christmas Music – Fa La La La La, La La La La

by Karen

Last year, my most popular Christmas-related post had to do with a sampling of my favorite Christmas songs. A quick rundown (in no particular order) the sampling includes…

  • All I Want for Christmas is You – Mariah Carey
  • O Holy Night – Josh Groban
  • Carol of the Bells – Mormon Tabernacle Choir
  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra
  • Hark! The Harold Angels Sing
  • Auld Lang Syne by Sissel

Guess what? I have more for you. Because Christmas is about listening to music that only makes an appearance for a month or two (unless you’re in a big box store, then all bets are off), there is plenty of room for more songs to shine.

Por Ti Volare – Andrea Bocelli and Sarah Brightman

Some of you may be familiar with this song due to Will Ferrell’s performance in Step Brothers at the #$@%ing Catalina Wine Mixer. I wouldn’t classify Por Ti Volare (Time to Say Goodbye) as a Christmas song per se, but since Pandora (I know, I know, I need to check out Spotify) included it on their Christmas station, I am playing along. Humor me.

Little Drummer Boy (Peace on Earth) – Bing Crosby and David Bowie

During the Bing Crosby Christmas Special, Bing Crosby’s Merrie Olde Christmas (1977), David Bowie stopped by and performed this song with Bing. By the time that the special aired, Bing Crosby had already passed away, making the song one of his last recordings. Rumor has it that David Bowie hated the song Little Drummer Boy and asked if there was another song that he could sing to accompany Bing.  Writers with the special then quickly wrote Peace of Earth, and music history was made.

O Come, O Come, Emmanuel – Enya

Regardless of your feelings toward Enya, you have to admit her rendition of O Come, O Come, Emmanuel is beautifully haunting. The hymn is a translation of Latin text from Isaiah 7:14, and one of my favorite to sing in church this time of year. According to Wikipedia, it is believed that the traditional music stems from a 15th Century French processional for Franciscan nuns.

Please Come Home for Christmas – The Eagles

How can you not like this song? Further more, how can you not like The Eagles?  I was surprised to learn that this song was recorded by Charles Brown well before The Eagles but in my opinion, nothing can beat the yearning in Don Henley’s voice.

All Alone on Christmas – Darlene Love

I am a sucker for a prominent saxophone and this song does not disappoint. If you’re a David Letterman fan, or familiar with the Home Alone 2 or Love, Actually soundtracks, then you’re aware the Darlene Love sleighs (ha, ha, ha) this song.

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Perry Como and The Fontane Sisters

I’ll end this year with a classic. While the song was known, it didn’t become popular with later generations until a version by Johnny Mathis was included in Home Alone. It has been a Top 10 Christmas hit ever since. All the more reason that Home Alone is one of the best Christmas movies ever made. Period.

__

Well, there you have it – the 2011 Christmas Song List at My Goal is Simple. I am always open to recommendations and love rediscovering old Christmas favorites. so please feel free to give yours in the comment section. Is anyone else a lover of a prominent saxophone?

