Remembering Gratitude

by Karen

I apologize for the technical difficulties in the previous post. The updated WordPress has been a bit buggy and combined with our dismal Internet speed (thank you Lawton), blogging has become slightly tedious. But I promise not to complain. Because complaining is unbecoming and let’s face it, just downright annoying. I know this isn’t a great segue, seeing as how I was just discussing complaining, but my mother is in town, she arrived last week. Clay was TDY last week and gone all weekend so it was nice to have the extra set of hands. And if the stars align, my father should be flying in tomorrow (and boy – will his arms be tired; hardee har har) and they will stay through Thanksgiving. While the origins of the holiday are a tad sketchy (just a hunch – but I don’t think the first Thanksgiving went down as depicted below), I rather enjoy the tradition of sitting down with family to share a meal and express our gratitude for the good fortune of the previous year.

(source)

Clay will be home this Thanksgiving (Weston and I were in West Chester, PA last year), we are getting settled in Oklahoma, and our little boy is healthy and full of life. If that isn’t enough to be thankful for, I don’t know what is. Henry Miller once stated, “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” Moving to Oklahoma most certainly changed my perspective. And it was a perspective that needed to be changed. I was too focused on mindless drivel and too obsessed with the perfect image, rather than embracing the simple joys of life.

Like snuggles with a three week old.

The past year was filled with adventure, ups, downs, and a gaggle of learning experiences (see the year in review here). I could focus on what failed to materialize but I choose to be thankful instead.

For example, you can’t frolic with wild buffalo in most parts of the world.

And spending an afternoon lining up trucks with a two-year-old is fun. Lots of fun.

This Thanksgiving, I will remember all that I am thankful for and express said thanks.

No tofurkey please, though.

