Same Old, Same Old

by Karen

I’d like to say that my blogging has slowed because the fabulous life is filled with too many adventures and it is difficult to find the time to sit and write about them. This is not the case. While I like to fancy my life as a jet-setting power mogul – in reality,  I am a simply stay-at-home mom (I really can’t stand that label) in Oklahoma trying to figure out her next move in this turbulent world we live in today.

On Friday I met with a Parks and Recreation representative from Lawton for a project that I working on for our church. I was secretly hoping that he would be Ron Swanson, but alas, he was not. I’ll have to save meeting the world’s biggest fan of breakfast for another day.

After our 30 degree meeting (held outside in fierce wind), I took the little guy to the church nursery and worked on a painting for the Holiday in the Park – a festival of lights in Lawton. Once I spilled yellow paint on my only pair of decent jeans, we picked up Clay from the airport because in this relationship, he is the only jet setter.

After the hugs and kisses and a quick nap for the little guy, we met our realtor to view some houses (the short sale we put an offer on a couple of weeks ago fell through). Now, in full disclosure, I am a huge fan of gun control. That being said, I believe that we have the right to bear arms. However, if you’re trying to sell your home, it is probably best that you don’t leave your guns out in the guest room when people are viewing your home. Just sayin’. Needless to say, we got the hell out of dodge. I think that is a buffalo skin on the bed too. There is nothing I like more than using a dead animal to warm myself during Oklahoma winters.

This is a million dollar house for sale – advertised as the Bellagio of Lawton.

Doesn’t the Mediterranean style just scream Oklahoma?

Yesterday, after writing up the offer, we took the little guy to the largest playground in town because we’re awesome parents. Clay pulled a sitcom-dad move and totally smacked his head against a piece of wood. Being the loving wife that I am, I proceeded to snap a picture with my phone while laughing.

I have also been baking up a storm. This is a giant carmel apple turnover. Don’t worry, it is quite delicious and I am making sure that it is receiving the attention it so deserves.

So that is pretty much all that is going on around these parts. We did experience an earthquake around 10pm Saturday night, which was a bit alarming. We are find and so is our house. And finally, little guy has discovered a love for coloring (yay!) and manages to color on paper 97% of the time, as opposed to furniture. Small steps, small steps.

