Beginning to Bloom

by Karen

I am not writing as often as I’d like, but I have good reason. More on that at a later date. And no, I am not pregnant (sorry, Mom!). As you know from my previous post, Clay’s parents were in town over the weekend. Showing them around town and the surrounding area made me realize that this part of Oklahoma is actually growing on me. There, I said it. Sure, there were parts we didn’t show them (like Lee Blvd. and any street identified with only an alphabetical letter) to save them from horror but overall, it was good for me to see the area through the eyes of visitors. Perhaps I finally pulled up my big girl panties and allowed myself to bloom.

{source}

I am sure you’re familiar with the adage, bloom where you’re planted, right? Whether or not you agree with it is another story for another day. But it is a common phrase within the military community and other lifestyles where the locale isn’t necessarily first choice. We’ve been living in Oklahoma for almost 9 months now and I feel as if I am starting to bloom. Finally.

It is easy to complain. Too easy (though I will continue to preach from the top of mountains about how Lawton needs a Target). And you all know I have done my fair share of complaining about the area on this blog. But as we’re becoming more involved in the community, we’ve been exposing ourselves to some of the brighter and shinier aspects of the area and you know what? I like them. Oklahoma is not going to be our forever home, but we may stick around longer than we originally planned. Funny how life works sometimes, isn’t it?

