I Think We’re Going to Be Just Fine…

by Karen

I’ve discussed how Clay missed so much during his year-long deployment. It is a fact of our life and one that we don’t gloss over. It is what it is and a sacrifice that many other military families make – we certainly are not alone. There was always the worry in the back of my mind that reintegration would be difficult; that Weston and Clay would need time to get to know each other; to become father and son. Those of you who were reading when Clay came home for R&R almost 10 months after leaving, know how my fears were laid to rest the minute we saw him running down the terminal…

Despite Clay missing so much, Weston behaved as if his daddy hadn’t been away fighting a war for the past 10 months. And when Clay came home for good a little over two months later, we fell right back into our little family of three, with few hiccups.

This is a typical scene around bedtime in our house. We dance, jump and down, pretend to eat feet, and laugh until we’re tired. I just had to capture it last night, to remember his age, his spirit, and his love for the two of us. And it was then I realized that despite our family being apart for twelve months last year, I think we’re going to be just fine.

 

