Come Thou Fount

by Karen

Albert Einstein wisely said that there are only two ways to live our life – “One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

I chose to live as though everything is a miracle.

One of my favorite Christian hymns is Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing. The lyrics were penned in the 18th century by Robert Robinson and are traditionally set to the American folk tune Nettleton, which was composed by John Wyeth. Christian and mainstream artists have covered the hymn and sang it live during concerts, including one of my favorite bands, Mumford & Sons.

 

Come Thou Fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of God’s unchanging love.

There are times I wonder how I’ve ended up to be where I am. Falling in love with a boy in the military has led me in a direction I never imaged as a teenager dreaming of the big city and bright lights. Falling in love with a boy in the military during a time of two wars has tested my faith, taught me true courage and bravery, and helped demonstrate how every moment is a blessing.

I actually got to thinking about how the military has impacted my life after reading a blog post by my sister-in-law, whose husband is currently deployed to Afghanistan. Now that Clay is home, it is somewhat easy to forget how I felt during the deployments. But there are times when I am reminded. I am afraid that I have never adequately put the mixture of fear, loneliness, and perseverance that is a deployment into words. And I am not sure if I can.

Clay’s first deployment was dangerous. As was his second one, but not to the degree of the first. During those 16 months, I woke up every single day, wondering if he was alive at that moment. And I would get out of bed determined to go about my day with grace, composure, and fearlessness. Regardless of the fear, loneliness, and longing. Weeks upon weeks would go without contact. I received notification phone calls and attended too many memorial services. It was during these times that I truly learned what the phrase, Let go and let God meant.

I’m afraid that now I am not always going about my day with the grace, composure, and fearlessness as I do during deployments. It is easy to get caught up in the chaos of everyday life but I must try harder to focus on every blessing. All too much we’re consumed by the unimportant things in life. Too little focus is paid to what really matters. And we fail to recognize all of our little blessings.

Oklahoma and I may be getting off to a rough start, but maybe the wide open plains and stark landscape are meant to give me the means to evaluate my life and ensure that I am doing more than just existing. And count my blessings.

Do you have a favorite hymn?

