How to Use Leftover Meatballs and Marinara Sauce

by Karen

I don’t mind leftovers. I really don’t. But I can’t eat the same meal twice. Maybe it is because I feel life is too short or maybe it is because I have grown accustomed to the ultra-stimulus environment that my generation seems to demand. Whatever the reason, all I know is that if I eat leftovers, I have to reinvent the dish – someway, somehow. Do remember when I made pasta with the little guy? That evening, I served it with marinara and homemade turkey, sausage, and cornbread meatballs. And wouldn’t you know, we marinara and meatballs leftover that I didn’t want to go to waste.

One of the things I actually like about Oklahoma is the fact that Clay is able to come home for lunch. It is one of my favorite parts of the day and I have enjoyed experimenting with leftovers to create new dishes for lunch. Most of the time, they’re really good. And sometimes, as is the case with the leftover marinara and meatballs, the newly invented dish is fabulous. Like Edina and Patsy absolutely fabulous.

First I started by combining garlic cloves, onion, and butter in my mini-food processor.

Then I spread a thin layer of the garlic, butter, and onion mixture on both sides of cut slices of wheat bread I made.

Then I baked the bread at 400 degrees for about 5-1o minutes, until the slices were all toasty brown.

And then I spooned marina on the toasted bread and placed sliced turkey/sausage/cornbread meatballs (if you’re interested in the recipe for the fairly healthy meatballs, let me know, I can type it up…) on top of the marinara.

Then it was time to spoon even more marinara over the meatballs.

And then I added a slice of swiss cheese and sprinkled mozzarella on top.

I baked the meatball bruschetta (I think that is the best thing to call them? I am open to ideas!) at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes or so and then garnished them with some fresh chives.

They were quite delicious, and I don’t even really care for meatballs all that much.

What do you do with leftovers? Do you even save leftovers? Or are you the type that will eat questionable food for the sake of not throwing anything away?

