Not So Bad For You Brownies

by Karen

Thankfully, we have phone, internet, cable, and water again. Our area of Oklahoma is currently experiencing extreme drought conditions and it is wrecking havoc on the utilities; not to mention causing wildfires and foundation lapses. Good stuff. I guess I am officially a boring adult now because I talk about how we need rain with strangers. My how the mighty have fallen.

Because we had no connection to the outside world yesterday (we’re just going to ignore my 3G cell phone service for the sake of this post) I decided to really embrace the minimalist lifestyle and bake brownies from scratch. I enjoy baking. I like brownies. I do not love adding eggs and vegetable oil to a prepackaged brownie mix, mainly because vegetable oil is an unnecessary ingredient to make delicious brownies. To make brownies not so unhealthy, you can substitute applesauce for the vegetable oil when using a prepackaged mix or you can make the recipe below. I will not go as far as calling the recipe healthy, but it does call for fresh ingredients and no hydrogenated oil – always a plus.

Ingredients

6 ounces of semi-sweet chocolate
one stick of butter
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
2 eggs
3/4 cup flour (I used whole wheat flour)
1/4 teaspoon salt

First, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Second, melt the butter and chocolate chips. I used the microwave but you can easily use a double broiler on the stove if you’re feelin’ fancy. Be sure to melt the mixture slowly. I did so in 30 second increments, stirring after each trip in the microwave. After about 90 seconds, the butter and chocolate were melted perfectly.

Stir in the sugar and vanilla, Then add the eggs, stirring the batter after each egg. Next throw in the flour and salt and stir the batter vigorously for a couple of minutes. Give those upper arms a workout. Pour the batter into an 8×8 dish and bake for 20 minutes. Check brownies…if they look like they need additional time, turn down the oven to 325 degrees and bake for an additional 5 minutes.

They’re delicious.

P.S. Check out silhouette I made of Weston over at A Lease to Decorate.

