Roasted Red Pepper and Sauteed Onion Pizza with a Balsamic Reduction

by Karen

The other night, we got crazy and made a pizza at home. I know, I know – you’re thinking “Whoa guys, you’ve got to slow down before the Fun Police come knocking on yo’ door.” But we can’t help it, we’re just that addicted to wicked good times. And the pizza we made did not disappoint. Don’t get me wrong, I love a restaurant/pizza joint pie as much as the next person (NY slice, folded, with grease sliding down my arm), but sometimes a homemade pizza just hits the spot.

The key to a homemade pizza is the crust. I prefer to make my own crust with active dry yeast because I haven’t been impressed with the store-bought ‘instant crust’ that is available. Now the prepared dough that you buy in the bakery is perfectly acceptable but I haven’t seen it around these parts.

Pizza Crust

  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar
Dissolve the yeast in the warm water and let start for at least 10 minutes. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, extra virgin olive il, salt, and sugar. Add in the yeast mixture. Mix until a dough forms. Cover and let rise until (at least) doubled. Punch dough and cover again. Let rise. Once finished, turn dough on a well floured surface. I used the Pampered Chef stone pan that Clay’s mother gave us a couple of years ago…it is the perfect homemade pizza dish. I pre-baked the crust for about 8-10 minutes at 350 degrees before adding the toppings.

Spread marinara/pizza sauce (we use Newman’s Own Organic) on the partially baked crust. And then begin to add the toppings. As you can see, Clay and I clearly differ on what constitutes as a delicious pizza and he started off with sausage. On my side, I hosted roasted red peppers,sautéed onions, and a balsamic reduction. Clay decided to go with pepperoni, the said sausage, and roasted red peppers.

For the roasted red peppers, I just roasted the peppers in a dry saute pan over medium heat, turning them occasionally until they received the desired look/feel. For the onions, I sauteed with a little bit of extra virgin olive oil. Simple, simple, simple.

I don’t know about you but I’m craving roasted red peppers now.

For the last step, just add some mozzeralla cheese before popping the pizza in the oven at 400 degrees. Watch closely, because cooking time may vary based on the toppings. Our pizza took about 12 minutes until it was ready. During this time, worked on the balsamic vinegar reduction. I simply cooked balsamic vinegar over medium heat until it reduced to a slightly syrupy texture.

Hot out of the oven.

I drizzled the balsamic reduction on the pizza after I cut my slice. I topped it off with fresh grated parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes. Clay and I both agreed that it was one of the best pizzas we’ve ever made. It truly was quite delicious. In my opinion, the balsamic reduction ties it all together, sort of like the rug of The Big Lebowski. Except no one peed on my pizza. At least, I hope not.

Do you have a favorite homemade pizza recipe?

