What I Ate (according to my iPhone)

by Karen

Every couple of weeks or so I upload the pictures from my phone to my computer. For whatever the reason, the batch I uploaded last night was filled with a disproportionate amount of pictures of food. I love food. So much. I eat well and I eat smart. For me, eating is about quality, not quantity. I’d rather have a couple of bites of mind-blowing delicious out-of-this-world food than a whole plate of average food. Unfortunately, as evident by the eating habits of some, not everyone operates on this mantra. That being said, I will not turn my nose up at so-called ‘cheap’ food because if it tastes good, I will eat it. Simple as that.

  • (1) French toast with Vermont maple syrup, blackberries, blueberries, and strawberries. I made this for breakfast one Saturday morning and enjoyed every bite. French toast is one of those dishes that can vary from place to place…every restaurant seems to have their own take on what constitutes the perfect french toast. I’ve gotten to the point to where I only eat it if I make it at home because I have grown tired of being disappointed. The best french toast I have ever eaten was at The Tin Pan Galley in Sackets Harbor, NY. Nothing compares – nothing!
  • (2) A cheeseburger on a buttery-toasted brioche bun with a side of gold standard french fries from The Burger Joint in Clemson, SC. We ate here for lunch during our overnight getaway. It was our first time eating The Burger Joint and we weren’t disappointed, our meals were quite tasty. The prices were a bit steep though. If I had to choose, I would say that probably the best cheeseburger I’ve ever had was at Burger Lounge at their Coronado Island location. I was 6 months pregnant during our San Diego vacation and that burger hit the spot. And the onions rings were TDF (to die for, if you’re not in the know).
  • (3) Cheese n’ eggs, hash browns, and waffle (shared with Clay) from The Waffle House. Since we were down south again during our GA trip a couple of weeks ago, we had to hit up a college staple. It isn’t the best place in the world but it is fast, cheap, and easy, just like me (no, not really). I don’t care what anybody says, The Waffle House hash browns are da bomb. Especially at  2 am after a night downing $2 pints.
  • (4) Roasted squash, peppers, and onions tossed in balsamic vinegar. This is a go-to side dish (or main dish when Clay isn’t around) for me. Roasted fresh vegetables with extra virgin olive oil, salt, and pepper is one of the most delicious food preparations ever. Hit it with a splash of balsamic vinegar and you’ve just entered transcendence territory.

  • (5) Filet mignon with blackended shrimp and creole sauce from Pixie & Bills during our overnight getaway.
  • (6) Garden salad with orange poppyseed dressing, which is also from Pixie & Bills.
  • (7) Frozen yogurt with kiwi, strawberries, blackberries, and gummy bears. Self-serve frozen yogurt with a topping bar is one of the best inventions ever. I wish I would have thought it – I would be a millionaire and spend my days floating in a pool (alive, not dead).
  • (8) Roasted red pepper and sauteed onion pizza with homemade crust and balsamic vinegar reduction. We made this for dinner last night. Recipe coming soon!
Man, I’m hungry now.


