Happy Father’s Day!

by Karen

I know I am lucky. I am married to an amazing man who loves me and our son unconditionally. He has integrity, courage, humor and a contagious spirit. He sets a goal and does whatever it takes to meet that goal. He believes in being part of something greater than himself. He is not selfish, not in the slightest bit. He is my partner, my biggest cheerleader, and works unbelievably hard to ensure that our life is comfortable and filled with as many laughs as possible. Basically, he is amazing.

He wants to live on through something-and in his case, his masterpiece is his son. All of us want that, and it gets more poignant as we get more anonymous in this world. Arthur Miller

I believe with all of my heart that Clay is the better parent of the two of us. He is so patient and kind to Weston. Him being TDY and deployed for pretty much the first 15 months of Weston’s life has had no adverse effect on their relationship. In fact, I would say that their father and son bond is stronger because of it. Perhaps it is because he saw people killed in theater that never got to meet their children. Or maybe it is because being in a war zone, away from your child(ren) and wife gives you a perspective on life that not many have the opportunity to experience. If being associated with the military has taught us one thing, it is that life is precious. So unbelievably precious.

Clay – words can’t begin to describe just how much our little boy loves you – and just how much you love our little boy. Thank you for being the type of father our son deserves. With you as a role model, I think our son will grow up to be a fantastic man. Let’s continue to treat each day with our son as a gift. So far we have been rewarded beyond our wildest dreams. I love you! You said you didn’t want anything for Father’s Day except to spend the day with us…well, you now have an extremely public gift of words from your adoring wife. Deal with it. And I am making bacon for breakfast this morning. Just for you. :)

“A truly rich man is one whose children run into his arms when his hands are empty.”

Author Unknown

Even Spiderman needs a bedtime story from his daddy.

And finally to my own father – thank you for always being there for me. I love you.

We are lucky to have you as a father.

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

