First Look at Weston’s Bedroom – {In Progress}

by Karen

This morning, I thought I would showcase what has been happening in Weston’s room. Again, it is still a work in progress but his room is finally functional and ready for a 19-month-old to call home. Before we start, do you remember the highlighter yellow that was on the walls when we received the keys? Sunglasses were required. It was that yellow.

{BEFORE}

We chose Nostalgia from the Lowes Signature collection as the paint color. His nursery in NC was taupe so we knew we wanted something different.  Nostalgia may look familiar because it is the same color as the laundry room. Together, Weston’s room (which is on the smallish side) and the laundry room took two gallons of paint. My smile only grew as I brushed the blue over the yellow. There was a huge difference with just with the trim painted.

The duvet cover I chose, with some help (Dwell Studio for Target Hippo – $59), arrived in the mail last week. I may have danced for joy around the living room. I think I even had a drink to celebrate. Oh happy day.

And here is Weston’s room as it looks today. The walls are bare. There is minimal furniture. And his personality has yet to shine through. But it is now the perfect canvas to create a retreat for a special little boy.

{IN PROGRESS}

Here is a close up of the duvet cover. I just adore the hippos.

His sheets are Toy Story. The little guy is currently obsessed with Toy Story 3 so he is pretty keen on the sheets. I am sad to say that I had to trek to Wal-Mart to buy them ($20). I couldn’t find any other retailer of regular Toy Story sheets. I hope I don’t have to set foot in another Wal-Mart for many months. It is never a pleasant experience and my journey to buy sheets was no different. Shudder. I am not a big fan of character decor but since the sheets are 70% hidden, I don’t mind it at all in this case. Besides, it makes our son happy…how can I not oblige?

{IN PROGRESS}

I made the curtain panel. If you look at the room picture above, you can see that there are actually two windows. Because the little guy goes to sleep early, we knew we needed something to block the light. I tried looking for kid-friendly 96 inch curtain panels but my search proved fruitless. I found this fabric at JoAnn Fabrics on sale for $4.99/yard. I fell in love with it and just had to have it. I love the busy pattern and how the fabric pulls colors from the wall and duvet cover. And I love that it isn’t matchy matchy. I despise matchy matchy. Despise. I bought three yards of the fabric, washed and ironed it, and put the edges through a quick run on my sewing machine. I chose to do just one panel because it is a small window and I like the asymmetry of having it next to the dresser when open.

After I sewed the panel, I used curtain clips ($5.99/12 at Big Lots) to attach it to a simple black curtain rod ($5.00 at Big Lots). Easy peasy. I highly recommend making your own curtains, because it opens up a whole world of color – literally.

And finally, one last view of the room…

{IN PROGRESS}

So there it is in all of it’s in progress glory. I hope all of you have a wonderful Friday. I know I will. Clay comes home this morning/afternoon (?), just in time for the weekend. Things are slowly beginning to come together in the house. We are not even remotely near being finished (we still have a ‘room we don’t speak of’) but some little rays of style are beginning to shine through, despite the rough edges. And to be honest, is the task of decorating a house ever completly 100% finished? Yeah, I don’t think so either.

