Memorial Day

by Karen

I love our country. And I love our world. But the United States of America will always come first in my heart. Our country was built on the blood, tears, and determination of brave men and women. Our history isn’t perfect. But then again, nobody’s is. Today, Memorial Day, is to honor Americans who have died in all wars. Please don’t forget about them. Please.

(source)

Maybe this holiday means more to me because of my husband’s involvement in the military. His entire adult life has been dedicated to the Department of the Army – ever since he accepted an ROTC scholarship at the young age of 18. I met him a year later and we have been on this roller coaster of a life together ever since. Around two and a half years of his life has been spent fighting a war in Afghanistan. He came home. Many didn’t. This holiday is for them.

I first read Final Salute back in 2006 during Clay’s first (hellish) deployment. It has remained with me all this time and still brings me to tears. Every. single. time. The above picture is one of many from the story about Marine 2nd Lt. James Cathey. If you’re wanting perspective on this holiday, please read it. But not without tissues. You will need tissues.

“Courage is contagious. When a brave man takes a stand, the spines of others are often stiffened.” Billy Graham

Enjoy family and friends today – around the pool, around the grill, or around the fire. Happy Memorial Day. And God Bless the United States of America.

