Tuesday Thoughts and Happenings

by Karen

It’s Tuesday and I feel fabulous. The new antibiotics are doing their job and for the first time in weeks, I have a surplus of energy at the end of the day. I managed to paint the guest bathroom and master bedroom over the past couple of days. It is amazing what I can accomplish when not in pain. The house is coming along. By this time next week, we will be settled into our new home. With cable. Which means that I can watch The Real Housewives of…. until I am blue in the face. Oh happy day.
Clay is currently enjoying everything that Ft. Lewis (outside of Seattle, WA) has to offer while I slowly move our (limited) belongings into the new house and continue to paint up a storm. He is eating fresh Pacific Halibut and I am eating peanut butter and jelly. He is drinking Alaskan Pale Ale and I am drinking 3.2% Coors Light. We have only lived in Oklahoma for four months and already I am beginning to feel a little land-locked. This is not good.
The majority of yesterday was spent under a tornado watch. We had a couple of bad thunderstorms but no tornados were spotted in our general vicinity. I concluded that going about my day during a tornado watch is a lot like doing so when your husband deployed. You know there is a possibility that something could happen but you try not to worry too much.
I am learning that painting a house with a toddler (a very inquisitive toddler) running around is an extreme sport. I have jumped off a ladder and flew across a room at lightening speed. I can trim a room with precision and not spill a drop on the carpet. I have even rolled a wall with Weston trying to bite my big toe. And let’s not talk about Lucy, who likes to rub against freshly painted walls.
And finally, I recently turned down a job I was offered. After much deliberation, I determined that I wasn’t ready to go back to work. But now I am thinking that the job just wasn’t right for me at this stage in my life. The little guy is 19 months (!) and I miss working outside of the home. Unfortunately, my options are limited in Lawton, OK. Ideally, I would like to work park-time, which is a possibility in my field but again, it can be difficult finding the opportunities in a rural part of the country. Luckily, I have a husband who supports my decision either way – stay home or work. But it still isn’t an easy decision.
Now if you excuse me, a cup of coffee and slate.com are calling my name.
Ciao.
Is that lame?
Yeah, it is.
Uhhh, bye.
