The Apple of My Eye

by Karen

On Saturday morning I did what any sane woman would do when her husband is halfway across the country – wake up at 5:30am to analyze shades of green. I know, I have serious problems. One cup of coffee later, I settled on Gentle Pasture by Valspar Signature. Ignoring the fact that it sounds like a not so lovely retirement village, I decided that it is the color green that would best suit our kitchen. Again, I am so thankful that our landlords have given us free reign to paint the house as we see fit. We have done the same thing for the tenants in our NC house. We might as well spread the wealth, right?

Before we get to the Gentle Pasture, let’s take a look at the kitchen as it was when we signed our lease. I am a big fan of turquoise, just not that particular  shade. And not on (these) kitchen walls. And let’s not forget the two (small) walls of Colonel Mustard.

The kitchen is a very nice kitchen. Sure, the countertops are not the greatest but they’re in good condition. The appliances are new (always a plus). And the layout is extremely functional. I can’t wait to start cooking in the kitchen. In the newly painted kitchen.

I’m going to have to do something about the backsplash though. Yikes.

But that will be saved for another day. Back to the paint. I like granny smith apples. A lot. Especially the spotted ones, they’re extra tart. I like granny smith apples so much that I used them as inspiration for the paint color in the kitchen. Now some people consider painting a kitchen green a design faux pas. Why you ask? Apparently, some believe that the color green makes people think of mold, which leads to an unappetizing aura around the kitchen. Ummm, okay. Needless to say, I am totally not one of those people. I sent a text message to Clay telling him that I chose an apple green for the kitchen and he responded that he trusts my judgement (Ha!).

Once the paint was purchased and the little guy put down for a nap, I got to work painting the trim. And immediately began to doubt the color choice. It was bright when it went on the wall, especially against the turquoise. Okay in Miami. Not so much in rural Oklahoma. Anybody else in the mood for Don Johnson and Philip Michael Thomas?

But as time went on, I become more confident with the color choice and by the time I finished, I was jumping up and down because I was so excited to have a green kitchen. Ignore the plaid curtains. They came with the house. And for the life of me, I can’t figure out how to remove them without unscrewing the curtain rod. I don’t want to cut them because they’re perfectly good curtains, just not our style. Once I get replacements, they will be donated to Goodwill and shine in a new home.

Step one of Operation Kitchen (rent-friendly) Redo is complete. Next step? Not sure. I’ll let you know when it hits me, which will probably at 5:30 in the morning. Early bird gets the worm, right?

