Welcome to the Oregon Coast

by Karen

Remember the original paint color in the family room?

You didn’t seriously forget, did you?

After a quick routine visit to the vet for Lucy, we headed over to the new house in order to say Auf Wiedersehen (we’re of German decent so it seemed appropriate) to Colonel Mustard. I was able to get the majority of the trim painted while Weston napped (thank goodness for pack n’ plays) and I even rolled the hallway (through the opening in the center of the picture) before he woke up.

Clay took the afternoon off of work and met me at the house after running around town, picking up supplies. Like more paint, a small ladder, beer, and food. You know, the important stuff. With Clay using the big roller and me focusing on the detail work, we were able to finish the room in a couple of hours. We couldn’t be more pleased with the results. What do you think?

I think Oregon Coast fits quite nicely in our Oklahoma home. I am sure some may critique that it is too bland or too boring, especially compared to Colonel Mustard, but they shouldn’t worry – we have big plans for the decor and they involve pops of bold color. Remember, the house is small (~1400 square feet) so we wanted to maximize the space and really accentuate an open and airy feeling. Oregon Coast does just that.

I was standing in the corner of the family room when I took this picture. Please ignore the mess in the kitchen. Thank you. It was serving as paint command central. As you can see, there is still some of Colonel Mustard left in the room. That wall, along with the turquoise (no fancy name assigned) will be painted another color sometime this weekend. Maybe a green of sorts?

One last picture, I promise! Here I was standing in the kitchen. I just like this picture because you can see the contrast between all three colors. Going with a neutral color transformed the room and I can’t wait to see how the rest of the house transforms with just a simple coat of paint. It is exciting times around here people. Exciting times.

We couldn’t have done the job with the 1 1/2″ Shur-Line Trim Paintbrush. At under $5, the brush can’t be beat. The long handle, sturdy brush hairs (after hours of use, not one is out of place), and compact size make it perfect for edging. I didn’t have to break out painters tape even once! Please note that this review is not endorsed by any company or the like. I am just incredibly pleased with the product and wanted to share.

