Weston’s New Chair and New Project for Me.

by Karen

This past weekend, I was able to get away for a couple of hours and visit some thrift shops in the Lawton, OK area. While at Goodwill, I found this adorable child seat. For $3.99! Our little guy is obsessed with chairs so I have been on the lookout for one. I love the solid construction and embrace the fact that it weighs a ton. Furniture the little guy can’t move is always a good thing. I plan to refinish the seat once we’re moved into the house, for our apartment balcony isn’t sufficient for a workshop to me channel my inner-Ron Swanson.

Interestingly, there are two scenes on each side of the chair. Why someone would put a doctor and a depressed girl on a chair for their child is beyond me, but I’m not going to judge someone’s taste. Okay, yes I am. Seriously? A doctor and a depressed girl? Really?

Yes, the chair is in quite need of some tender, loving, and care. But I can do it!

It is hard to see in this picture but there is a penny, dated 1974, embedded into the chair. I am assuming that whoever made this chair, used this method to date his (or her) work. I have loved this type of dating since seeing the penny my sister and her husband have encased in their fireplace, put there by the original owners. I am thinking that once I refinish this chair, I will put a 2011 penny on the other side, to mark my update. Cheesy or cute?

