The Oklahoma Climate – A Love Story

by Karen

I was born in Michigan and vacationed there every summer as a child. I lived in Arizona for a little over 10 years and when I was in middle school, my family moved to Pennsylvania. I went down to South Carolina for college and trekked up north to New York for Clay’s first duty station. We then moved to North Carolina and now find ourselves in Oklahoma. So I have lived a fair amount of places with varying climate types. I’ve experienced the hot dry heat of Phoenix (LOVE!), the treacherous humidity of the South (dislike), and the blizzards (and gorgeous summers) of northern New York. And now I am here in Oklahoma – land of high wind, high (dry) heat, and severe storms. You know what? I really like it. The climate, that is.

I adore dry heat and I despise humidity. It can be 110 degrees and I am happy as a clam, just as long as there is little humidity. For this reason, I don’t ever see myself retiring to Florida and I am not sure if I will ever find myself living in the South again, despite the many things I love about the area. You see, I don’t glow. I don’t perspire. I sweat. And I sweat hard. Let me tell you, it isn’t pretty. My super thick hair coils up like Paris Hilton in a church and I start producing liquid faster than I can reapply deodorant. I told you it isn’t pretty. Humidity isn’t my friend.

But the dry heat is. It writes me notes in English class, giggles with me over the new BOP magazine, and plays Light As a Feather, Stiff as a Board at slumber parties. We’re tight. And I am glad that I am able to revisit our relationship in Oklahoma.

The temperature this past week as been in the 90s and I have loved every second of it. It is a bit cooler this week (as noted below) and the wind is quite prominent. My hair is often in a ponytail for this reason. As you can see, Weston’s hair is even crazier than usual due to the wind.

I wish you all could feel the weather. Nothing beats experiencing it a remote field – the sun heating up your skin, and the wind whipped around you. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel a little bit like a pioneer.

(source)

We’re located right in the middle of Tornado Alley. Rumor has it that the most severe weather is from late April through early June so things might start getting interesting around these parts. As far tornados and Lawton, in 1957 a F4 went through the city and in 1974, a F3 touched down in the southern area of the town. As my mom (the storm chaser of the family) likes to joke, we’re due for another one. I have experienced tornados before, and while destruction is never fun, the power associated with such storms is overwhelming and exhilarating.

Maybe that is what I like about the Oklahoma climate so much – the constant reminder of how small we are in the grand scheme of this world and the universe. And you know what? Sometimes it is good to have that reminder. Psalm 25:1.

