Shrimp Scampi. And LOTS of Butter. LOTS.

by Karen

First, please excuse this picture, which was taken on my iPhone. I couldn’t find my point-and-shoot and my stomach was grumbling with anticipation. Second, please note that this recipe is not healthy. The ingredients are fresh and all natural (a must in this household) but the (oh so good) butter (and more butter) pretty much eliminates the chance of this meal being approved for heart attack victims. But we all deserve to cut loose every once awhile and Clay and I did just that with Shrimp Scampi on Tuesday night. I know, I know – we’re just too crazy. Richard Branson can’t even keep up.

I enjoy cooking. A lot. Now I am horrible with posting recipes because I never follow them! I never measure and I always adjust to taste. But I will try my best. Because that is what I do. This recipe made enough for two so adjust accordingly.

Ingredients

  • Shrimp – Peeled with tail on or off if that is the way you roll (weirdo).
  • Olive oil – Extra virgin or whatever you have on hand. But it must be olive oil.
  • Garlic – LOTS of garlic. I chopped about 8 cloves. I think. I was in a garlic coma so I am not sure.
  • Green onions – Maybe about 2 or 3 chopped? Yeah, that sounds about right.
  • White wine – Pinot Grigio. I even used a little in the dish. Ha! Seriously, about a cup or so should do it.
  • Butter – 1/2 a stick. Yes, about 4 tablespoons. More if you desire (I probably used more…shhhh…).
  • Pasta – I used angel hair because I enjoy a thinner noodle. No fat noodles for this girl.
  • Parmesan cheese – Please, please, please use freshly grated. But the canned stuff (sigh) will do.
  • Lemon – squeeze the juice of an entire lemon. Trust me – it is worth it.
  • Salt – to taste
  • Pepper – to taste
  • Parsley – to taste

Preparation

  1. In a frying pan (large enough to accommodate the entire dish), cook shrimp in olive oil. Once finished, remove shrimp from pan and set aside.
  2. You will probably need to add more olive oil. Cook garlic and green onion until you get that scrumptious aroma that overwhelms your senses and makes you a bit dizzy. Don’t burn the garlic. Treat the garlic with the respect it deserves.
  3. Once garlic and onions are cooked, add the white wine and lemon juice. Reduce (over medium heat) the contents of the pan by about half. Add salt, pepper, and parsley. Taste. If it is starting to taste delicious, move on to the next step. If not, play around with the ingrediants…add more spices, garlic, onion, wine, or lemon if necessary. Have a glass of wine and have fun. Cooking is an art, a dance if you will, and (in my opinion) not something that should be viewed as a science project.
  4. Turn the heat down low and begin adding the butter, one teaspoon at a time. Continually taste your creation. Add butter as you see fit.
  5. Add the shrimp back to the pan. Let simmer for 5 minutes or so. Taste again. Add more butter if you want. Hey, it couldn’t hurt, right? Okay, maybe it could.
  6. Spoon the shrimp scampi over noodles. Sprinkle cheese on top.  Add some chopped scallions if you’re feeling fancy. I put the squeezed lemon halves on our plates to really dress things up. Serve with garlic bread and you have yourself a meal worthy of rainbows and puppies. Enjoy!
