Strawberry Cottage Cheese Muffins

by Karen

At least once a year I buy a container of cottage cheese, despite me thinking it is one of the most vile food items on the market today. I don’t need to go into detail about my displeasure for the milk and whey mixture, for I am not alone in my assessment. But I also recognize that there are millions of you out there who love the curdled concoction. And it is extremely healthy. I wish I liked it. But I don’t.¬†Unfortunately, this once-a-year purchase occurred a couple of days ago. I bought it because I wanted Weston to try it – not wanting to repeat my childhood, which was deprived of certain delicious edibles because my mom didn’t prepare food she didn’t like. Now my mom is a lovely person and a good cook, but I still can’t believe that I didn’t eat my first sweet potato until I was 18. The majority of my siblings now love sweet potatoes and we can’t resist teasing my mom during a holiday dinner, where the ever delightful sweet potato is present, prepared by someone other than my mom (of course).

Verdict? Weston didn’t like cottage cheese. And I still hate the stuff. As does Clay. So that left us with 16 ounces of low-fat cottage cheese, sitting in the refrigerator, waiting to be consumed before the expiration date. Next to the tub of nastiness were some strawberries that I was wanting to use before they started sporting a white furry coat that would draw protests from PETA. “Ah Ha!”, I thought. “Stawberry Cottage Cheese muffins!” Have I mentioned that I am becoming quite the little housewife? I am not sure if it is the delirium of living in a small apartment or the constant booms of artillery fire, but I have been whipping up breakfast, lunch, and dinner for my family with the frenzy of Martha Stewart and the attitude of Alton Brown. For the first time in our married life, Clay is able to come home for lunch. I am not going to lie – I love it! All that is missing is an apron.

So back to the Strawberry Cottage Cheese muffins. Because Google is my friend, I found some recipies that peaked my interest and ended up combining a couple. As you can see, the muffins collapsed a bit during the baking process, but they still tasted fantastic. Best of all? They were healthy! We ate them for breakfast this morning and earned a thumbs up from all five taste-testers, Lucy and Desi included.

Strawberry Cottage Cheese Muffins

1/4 cup of low-fat cottage cheese
1 egg
3/4 cup of whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 cup of Splenda
1/3 cup of milk (I used 2%)
1 cup (or approximate) of strawberries

Combine all the ingredients together and back for 15 minutes at 425 degrees. Easy peasy.
