Over the Top Melodrama – And Nowhere to Store It

by Karen

We’re Oklahoma. No pictures this time. It is cold, the sky is gray, and the grass has yet to turn green. In other words, it is a tad depressing. Okay, a lot depressing. Not helping is the fact that Weston continues to start his day at 4:30am. All I can say is thank goodness for our Keurig. I am writing this post as my son wanders around the apartment, which is totally not baby-proofed. Fun. This dwelling is only temporary before we either buy or rent a house. Yes, we’re back to square one about whether to buy or rent. We know that we will be happier in a house of our own because the majority of houses on the rental market conjure up “put the lotion in the basket” images. And with a dog and a cat, our options are extremely limited. But as evident by our still-not-sold North Carolina house, the status of the housing market is enough to bring Chad Lowe back to tears. What to do, what to do?

So that is why I am now searching for cheap storage and living solutions for our apartment. This place is not toddler friendly in the least and because it is obviously a rental, I can’t make the appropriate modifications. I have been in this place for less than 24 hours and already we have had multiple tantrums due me sternly informing Weston, “NO!” It is not even 10 and I have been up for almost 6 hours with rattled nerves and a down spirit. I am trying to remain positive and focus on the light at the end of the tunnel. However, it is becoming increasingly difficult due to the dimming light, which seems to fade with each passing day.

Okay, even I admit that the previous sentence was a little over the top with melodrama. But still. I need to find where the hell I put my typically sunny demeanor. Over the past six months or so, I have changed. I am pretty sure that my big girl panties are pulled up and I continue to be determined to make the best of whatever situations I seem to find myself in. But it is no secret that Oklahoma wasn’t my first choice of where our post-active duty military adventure would be begin. This transition has been extremely difficult for me.  I read about all the fabulous places other people in the blogosphere get to live because of the military or for whatever reason their life provides, and you know what? I don’t become jealous (okay, maybe just a little bit), rather I become overwhelmed with sadness. It is as if it is a reminder of another area in which I have failed (oh there are so many).

Sigh, there I go with the melodrama again! I really must stop that. But you know, I am not sure why but coming up short seems to be my modus operandi. I meet goals just fine but I never succeed in the way I envision. I am good enough, not great. Perhaps I am setting the bar too high? Do I want too much out of life? Am I doomed to never be completely satisfied with what I have? The way I have been feeling the past couple of months, I am afraid the answer to those questions is leaning toward yes. And this saddens me even more than reading about fantastic places in the world so many people get to live and experience. Like places with really good beer. And decent supermarkets.

So I suppose it is a good thing that I recognize myself turning into a bitter kitten. I hope to correct this before I turn into the cantankerous elderly cat lady who throws newspapers at neighborhood kids. So until then, I am to go thrifting, in search for affordable storage options, perfect for a temporary apartment. And if I come up empty handed, I can always pretend to be a subject on Hoarders. They always look like they’re having a swell time. Don’t you think?

